Friday Favs- crock pot dinner


This week was my first week back working with kids since having R. I decided to sub at his school and I am really enjoying it. I worked  1 full day and 2 half days. I didn’t realize how much I missed it but I love being back in the classroom with little kids. Justin and I were prepared for this week and made sure meals could work with our updated schedule. He was home on Tuesday so I left him directions to make dinner. We were big fans of this and I imagine it will be made again very soon. I took all of your advice from Facebook on Quinoa and had Justin attempt it on Tuesday. We bought quinoa from Trader Joe’s and used chicken broth instead of water. Then I seasoned it with some salt, chopped fresh cilantro, and fresh lime juice. We made Kat’s black beans which I love and could definitely eat once a week. We omitted the red pepper flakes so R could eat it too. Justin made Weelicious’s crockpot pulled chicken while I was at work. He turned the slow cooker on high and it took an hour and a half.  The way I plated this was to put the quinoa down first. Then I layered the black beans on top of it and placed the chicken on top of that. We added cotija cheese, sour cream, guacamole, and salsa too. The picture is not great but I can promise you it was very tasty. 


One more picture from this week… I ended up subbing in a class that combines with R’s class for Hebrew on Wednesday. One of the teachers snapped this one of us. 

What are some of your favorite crock pot meals? I’d love some new recipes. I think we are big fans now. 

Erica 

One thought on “Friday Favs- crock pot dinner

  1. Love that the beans are still going strong!

    So fun that you are able to do a bit of subbing. Even though work is just as tiring as parenting, I’ve really been thankful to have a PT thing (initially I wasn’t sure if I would or not).

    I need to round up my fave easy crockpot recipes and send to you. Keep sharing yours too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

