Friday Favs- smoothies and stuff


In the last few weeks I have been so intrigued by Weelicious smoothie project. I watch daily  on Instagram and Facebook to see the creations that her kids come up with in smoothie form. I decided to try it out myself and I am in 💙.  We got a Vitamix a while ago and so I made a stop at Trader Joe’s to get a bunch of frozen fruit and some spinach. I ordered online  the Amazing Grass protein powder that weelicious uses. I am still figuring it all out and have not experimented with the hemp seeds or bee pollen. I did find the coconut oil and chia seeds at Trader Joe’s(TJ’s) so I have been adding that to the smoothies. I was counciled by the cashier at  TJ’s to not add too much chia seed to the smoothie because it doesn’t digest as well so there is that to take into account… I will say though that I really enjoy these as my breakfast. It’s easy to sip one while still keeping an eye on R. 


Ingredients used in various smoothies

  • spinach 
  • TJ’s coconut oil 
  • TJ’s chia seeds
  • Frozen mango
  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen pineapple 
  • Frozen blueberries 
  • Fresh apples 
  • Fresh bananas 
  • Fresh clementines 
  • Plain yogurt 
  • 1% milk 
  • Almond milk 
  • Amazon Grass Vanilla Protein powder


When I make lunch for myself at home and am pressed for time (watching R  crawl towards Leo’s water dish,the blinds, cords… I love making quick pitas like the one above.


I tried roasting carnival squash for the first time this week. I cut it in half and then sliced those pieces in half. I rubbed it with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper and put it on a baking sheet. I baked it at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. I chopped up some romaine lettuce and added some feta, dried cranberries, roasted pecans, and a drizzle of balsamic dressing. This will definitely be made again soon. 

Hope your weekend is full of some Halloween fun! 🎃👻

Erica 

Leave a Reply

