Friday Favs from Atlanta 

  When looking back on this past week I knew right away what would be featured in my favs for this Friday. We got back on Wednesday from our trip to Birmingham and Atlanta to see family and friends. I talked about my Birmingham favs last week so I knew that this week would feature Atlanta. 

Restaurants- While in Atlanta I tried 3 new restaurants. I’m always amazed when I visit Atlanta because the food scene there is always changing. 

My cousins, Marcy and Jodi, David (Marcy’s husband), Justin and I went to Wisteria for dinner one night. My dad and Marcy’s parents watched all the babies which was so nice. The food could be described as upscale southern. We dined on black eyed peas hummus with homemade sweet potato chips, fried oysters, vegetable plates, and Mac and cheese with a collard topping. When looking at the menu I had planned on ordering the fried chicken but when I heard the vegetable plate was made up of 10 different veggies that were either grilled, stewed, sautéed, or roasted I jumped on the band wagon with both my cousins and ordered the veggies. I’m not sure if the pictures really can show how yummy all this food was… But trust me it was sooo good! 

   
    
 
Brunch is probably one of my favorite meals. I love how it combines the best of breakfast and lunch. Justin, little guy, and I met my best friend, Allison at a great spot called Joy Cafe. When we sat down at the table and the waitress brought us fresh blueberry scones and mini chocolate chocolate chip muffins I knew this was going to be good. Allison informed me that we had to get biscuits because it’s what they are known for and that they are literally the size of a softball and she was so right! Also while perusing the menu I noticed that Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives had been there. They had marked a couple items on the menu with the logo. When I saw that they had shrimp and grits and it was marked with the triple d logo I decided that was definitely worth trying and plus I have yet to be able to get this dish in Minnesota. The combination of the creamy grits, dash of hot sauce, and the fresh flavor from the shrimp was really delicious. Also I must add how nice it was that the owner was walking around and checking on tables. I loved getting to hear from her all about the stories behind the dishes on the menu. Little guy got to try grits for the first time and he was a big fan of them. 🙂

   
   
On Tuesday we went to a fairly new place called Ponce City Market. When you walk inside you are faced with the dilemma of deciding what type of cuisine you are in the mood for. The variety of food choices cannot be described but must simply be experienced. I found a great seafood place called W.H. Stiles Fish Camp and had one of the best shrimp poboys. 

  
Little Guy 💚s-  When looking back on this past week and what the little guy was really enjoying it’s a mix of popsicles and his new book from my aunt and uncle.

   

He is sharing his book with his cousins.
 
Hope your weekend is full of fun and some of your favs! 

Erica 

Leave a Reply

